NORTH WEST AREA JOINT POLICING SUB COMMITTEE

Monday 12th December 2016 at 3.00 p.m.

MINUTES

The following announcements were made at the start of the meeting.

- The transfer of Inspector Liam Casey from Mountjoy Garda Station, replaced by Inspector Aidan Flanagan.
- Welcome to the newly appointed Finglas Safety Fora Coordinator, Jackie Phelan.
- Welcome to the newly elected Community Representatives Martin Hoey and Triona O'Sullivan who were elected through the PPN process.
- Welcome to Olivia Mc Cormack to the Admin team at the Finglas Area Office.

Item		Action
1.	Minutes of meeting held 12 th September 2016 and matters arising.	Agreed.
2.	Update on the CCTV Project – Insp John Burke.	Cllr. Keegan with regret reported the death of Insp. John Burke's father Michael. 1 minutes silence was observed. A comprehensive update on the progress of the CCTV programme will be give at the next meeting in March 2017.
3.	Update on Kildonan Lands Project and Abigail Centre.	Noted. Cllr. McAulliffe and Deputy Ellis requested the possibility of advancing development at the site. Tony Byrne noted the recent incident has led to a breakdown of communications and emphasised that community engagement is key to the success of any development project. Aidan Maher noted all comments and informed the committee that while responsibility lay with the local area office the authority over managing the site was needed. Cllr. Keegan requested the attendance of representatives from the Abigail Centre at alternate meetings.
4.	Presentation on the An Garda Siochana Christmas Campaign.	Sergeant Vincent Connolly, Crime Prevention Officer presented a PowerPoint on safety around the Christmas Period. Sergeant Séan Herlihy presented a PowerPoint on the Open City Campaign. Both presentations followed with Q & A. Further information on these campaigns can be found at www.garda.ie

5.	Interim Report on Youth Services Sub Group.	Frank Murphy, Chairperson on the Youth Services Sub Group gave a verbal update on the progress of the work undertaken by the Youth Services Sub Group. Frank to provide a written report for the next JPC meeting in March 2017. Deputy Ellis noted his request to lodge a bill in the Dáil relating to Quad Bikes, scramblers and rickshaws. Chief Superintendent Wheatley noted the recent information campaign by SDCC and An Garda Siochana on scramblers and quads, Lisa to circulate a copy to all members.
6.	Review 2016 Work Plan and Agree 2017 Work Plan.	2016 Review and 2017 Workplans agreed.
7.	Fora updates.	Reports Noted. Niall Counihan thanked Dublin City Council for the installation of gates to the lane at the rear of the shops on Faussagh Avenue and also for the contribution of winter plants for the planters along Faussagh Avenue. Cllr Reilly asked for an update on a strategy for the Main Street, Ballymun. Chief Superintendent O'Brien agreed a broad agency approach was needed to tackle the ongoing problems and suggested Superintendent Finbarr Murphy contact Cllr. Reilly to discuss further.
7.	Garda Reports.	Reports Noted. Deputy Ellis raised concern over the amalgamation of the drug squads for Finglas and Blanchardstown. Chief Superintendent Wheatley noted the Deputy's concerns and agreed the new arrangement would be monitored.
8.	Strategic Questions.	16 Strategic Questions received, replies circulated in packs to all members. Cllr. Perry's Q. 2 to be forwarded to City Wide JPC for reply.
12.	АОВ	Dates for 2017 NWA JPC meetings included in packs. Cllr. Keegan wished all members a Happy Christmas and New Year.

The meeting concluded at 16.40

The next meeting will take place on Monday 13th March 2016 at 3.00 pm in the Council Chamber, Ballymun Civic Centre, Main Street, Ballymun, Dublin 11.

Attendance:

Councillors: Teresa Keegan, Noeleen Reilly, Emma Murphy, Anthony

Connaghan, Aine Clancy, Paul Mc Auliffe, Cieran Perry, Andrew

Montague, Norma Sammon.

TDs: Deputy Noel Rock, Deputy Dessie Ellis.

Officials: Dave Dinnigan (Executive Manager), Aidan Maher (Senior Executive

Officer), Mary Taylor (Senior Executive Officer), Lisa Keenan (Staff Officer), Olivia Mc Cormack (Staff Officer), Leona Fynes (Project

Estate Officer).

Gardaí: Chief Superintendent Lorraine Wheatley, Chief Superintendent

Finbarr O'Brien, Sergeant Vincent Connolly, Sergeant Séan Herlihy.

Community Reps: Mr. Frank Murphy, Mr. Tony Byrne, Mr. Martin Hoey, Ms. Triona

O'Sullivan.

Safety Fora Reps: Mr. Niall Counihan, Ms. Jackie Phelan.

Local Drugs Task Force: Mr. Hugh Greaves

Apologies: Cllr. David Costello, Cllr. Seamas McGrattan, Deputy Roisin Shortall,

Inspector John Burke, Fergus Synnott.

Councillor Teresa Keegan Deputy Chairperson